In memoriam …


The somber, gray skies reflected the mood of more than 100 bicyclists on Sunday as they turned out in Hurst, Texas, for a tribute ride in memory of Megan Baab, a local cyclist who was killed during training near her college in North Carolina.

Tribute ride for Megan Baab. Photo by WFAA-TV/Channel 8


Megan’s father, Chris Baab, also a cyclist, led the ride, which began at the Hurst store of Bicycles Inc. and followed one of Megan’s favorite training routes when she was growing up in Texas.
“There’s people showing up here that I haven’t seen in years,” Chris Baab said. “It’s just so comforting, and to know that they loved my daughter just as much as I did.”
Megan, 19, was killed on Thursday afternoon when a truck struck her head-on while she was doing a training ride on a rural road in Altamont, N.C., near Lees-McRae College in Banner Elk, N.C., where she was a freshman. Megan competed on the national recognized Lees-McRae cycling team.

1 Comment

Filed under Training, Urban cycling

One response to “In memoriam …

  1. John Vandevelde

    I have been on one of these memorial rides–for my nephew–very sad. My heart goes out to the Baab family.
    I am not entirely sure what caused the truck to strike Megan. I think often these incidents are caused by rushing and not driving safely. That is what happened when my nephew was killed. Just this morning, in my car, some driver crowded into my lane, then got behind me and tailgated, then whipped around me and cut in front of me. He continued down the freeway doing the same to another 3 or 4 cars before I lost sight of him. He was nuts. There has to be a way to rein in aggressive drivers and to better protect bicyclsts and pedestrians so there is less need for these memorial rides.

Leave a Reply

