That top-of-the-world feeling


Do you remember when you first learned to ride a bike? That exhilarating feeling of zipping down the sidewalk without training wheels as a concerned parent looked on? The sense of wonderment that this two-wheeled conveyance could take you to places you’d never been before? The first stirrings of independence?
It was an early rite of passage on a long journey toward adulthood.
To recapture that top-of-the-world feeling, check out the video below of a boy’s first successful bike ride and the response to his dad, who asks if he has any “words of wisdom” for “all the other kids learning how to ride their bike.”
“I feel happy of myself!” the declares before climbing a curb, like a triumphant Rocky Balboa, and shouting:
“Everybody, I know you can believe in yourself! If you believe in yourself, you will know how to ride a bike! If you don’t, you just keep practicing. You will get the hang of it. I know it.”

3 Comments

Filed under Americana, Cool stuff, Urban cycling

3 responses to “That top-of-the-world feeling

  1. Hello Jim
    I found a picture on your blog site I wanted to ask if we could use.
    My name is David
    We are jole rider at http://www.jolerider.org based in the UK.
    We are best known for our bikes4Africa programme involving the delivery of refurbished bikes for schools.
    The image I am keen to use is the one of a father behind his son having just mastered the art of cycling solo.
    We would like to use the image in a special promtion we are doing.
    It is very poignant!
    I was interested to read how you blog started.
    One of our supporters did the same ride in 2010.

    I look forward to hearing from you Jim.
    Kind regards
    David

  2. David,
    Thanks for looking at my blog. I’m afraid I can claim no ownership of the image you saw on my blog. I trolled the Internet looking for a thumbnail image to accompany that blog post on learning to ride a bike. I could find no credit for the image. I always try to credit photos and images if they’re not my own. Kudos for your work in providing bikes for Africa. I lived in Kenya and South Africa for a total of 7 1/2 years and have done several blog posts about bikes in Africa, including a couple on the Bamboo Bike Project. As for the genesis of my blog: As I was preparing for a cross-country journey in the spring of 2009, during my first full year of retirement, I figured that a blog might be the best way to keep my wife and three far-flung sons apprised of the progress of my journey. I blogged throughout the trip and continued to blog afterward. It has since become one of my hobbies. Take care.
    Jim

  3. Thanks for your reply and comments Jim.
    Happy Christmas, New Year and blog writing.

    Regards
    David

Leave a Reply

