A journey with maps


YOGI BERRA“You got to be careful if you don’t know where you’re going because you might not get there.”
Yogi Berra

As Yogi sagely suggests, you’d better have a good idea of how to get to your destination, or you might not reach it.
A couple of my growing handful of readers — my oldest son in Taiwan and a bike-riding pal of my brother-in-law in Austin — suggested that I post a  route of my planned transcontinental bicycle ride that’s more detailed than the route shown on thumbnail maps on the page called “Riding a bicycle across America” and my April 20 post explaining the purpose of this blog.
So I’ve created a new page called “The route.” You can access it by clicking on “The route” in the bar across the top of the header photo showing a field of Illinois soybeans with a lone rider at the right (me).del-rio-to-navasota1
The 3,160-mile route from San Diego, Calif., to St. Augustine, Fla., is shown in two overview images of the United States and seven panels depicting segments of the route. In each of the seven panels, the black line is the bicycle route. (See the inset of the map section showing the route across Texas.)
The images are from the excellent maps published by the Adventure Cycling Association, the organizer of my planned Sept. 18-Nov. 21 journey.

4 Comments

Filed under Cycling across America

4 responses to “A journey with maps

  1. Jim,

    That is some route! Thanks for the detail maps. At least you have chosen some of the most scenic parts of Texas, not necessarily the flattest, but definitely the most scenic.

    I noticed you mapped a tiny town in Florida called Archer. My husband grew up in the area and his grandmother, aunt, uncle, and cousins still live there. Its pretty interesting to see Archer on a map like that. Hope you get a chance to enjoy some of the wonderful springs near High Springs…Blue Hole is a local favorite.

    I’m enjoying the blog and can’t wait to follow you virtually through it all.

    Take Care,

    Allison

  2. Allison,
    Thanks for the note and for the suggestion on the maps. I’ll be on the lookout for Archer and Blue Hole.
    Jim

  3. Boy, “the route” goes quite out of the direct way ….. I presume to avoid interstate highways whenever possible. Or is it seeking every hill available like someone we know named Dee?
    SMc

Leave a Reply

